The Book of Kells

Book of Kells

Regular Cast

Paul McGann (The Doctor), Niky Wardley (Tamsin Drew), Jim Carter (Brother Bernard), Terrence Hardiman (King Sitric), Graeme Garden (Abbot Thelonious), Ryan Sampson (Brother Patrick), Nick Brimble (Olaf Eriksson)


“Anyone who’s prepared to kill for a book interests me.”

Ireland, 1006. Strange things have been happening at the isolated Abbey of Kells: disembodied voices, unexplained disappearances, sudden death. The monks whisper of imps and demons. Could the Lord of the Dead himself be stalking these hallowed cloisters?

The Doctor and his companion find themselves in the midst of a medieval mystery at its heart is a book: perhaps the most important book in the world. The Great Gospel of Columkille. The Liber Columbae.



coming soon


  • The Book of Kells was the fourth release of the fourth series of the New Eighth Doctor Adventures.
  • Brother Bernard is the chief librarian at the Abbey of Kells.
  • Olaf Eriksson mistakes Tamsin for a valkyrie.
  • The Monk’s alias “Abbot Thelonious” refers to the 20th century American musician and composer Thelonious Monk.
  • The Monk has regenerated at least once since his previous encounter with The Doctor.
  • Tamsin refers to the Time Vortex as a “temporary whirlpool” rather than a “temporal wormhole.”
  • Sheridan Smith is credited as ‘Ash Hidminster’ (an anagram) in the liner notes, to disguise the reappearance of Lucie.
  • The Doctor uses a temporal spectroscope to scan for irregularities in the time space field so as to determine whether any other time travellers have been dragged to the Abbey in 1006. He detects a time eddy in the Abbey’s library.
  • The Doctor recalls his first encounter with The Monk in Northumbria in 1066 when he attempted to alter the outcome of the Battle of Hastings (The Time Meddler) as well as their subsequent meetings on the volcano planet Tigus and in Egypt in 2650 BC (The Daleks’ Master Plan).

Buy From

Square 130x126Square 130x126

error: Content is protected
Skip to content