Creatures of Beauty

Creatures of Beauty
Creatures of Beauty

Regular Cast

Peter Davison (The Doctor), Sarah Sutton (Nyssa), David Daker (Gilbrook), David Mallinson (Brodlik), Jemma Churchill (Lady Forleon), Nigel Hastings (Quain), Michael Smiley (Seedleson), Philip Wolff (Murone), Emma Manton (Veline), Nicholas Briggs (Koteem/Morgue Attendant/Police officer/Guard/ Control/Captain Delarphim/Pilot)


A planetary ecological disaster! An incurable, disfiguring, genetic disease. Aliens, in breach of galactic law!

Nyssa, under arrest! The TARDIS, inoperable! The Doctor, facing interrogation!

Another situation of dire peril is unfolding for The Doctor and his companion. However, what if it is not clear who is right and who is wrong? Who is ugly and who is beautiful?

Where does the story begin, and where does it end? Sometimes, it is all a matter of perspective.


coming soon



  • Creatures of Beauty was the forty-fourth monthly Doctor Who audio story produced by Big Finish Productions. It featured the Fifth Doctor, as played by Peter Davison, and Nyssa, as played by Sarah Sutton
  • The TARDIS emits a warp distortion field.
  • Writer/director Nicholas Briggs wrote the play in thematic order. The theme of the play being moral ambiguity and the difficulties that occur when the whole picture isn’t clear. He recorded it in chronological order so that all the actors experienced the story as their characters would have.
  • The narrative is presented out of sequence. It is used here as dramatic device to tell the story as all the characters within it, including The Doctor and Nyssa, experience events in chronological order.
  • Big Finish: The Inside Story reveals that Clive Swift was originally offered and accepted the role of Gilbrook, but had to pull out at the last minute due to an illness in the family.

Buy From

Square 130x126Square 130x126

error: Content is protected
Skip to content