The Web of Fear


Previous Next




The Web of Fear

Serial Code


First Transmitted

3 February 1968

Final Ratings







previous arrow
next arrow


Regular Cast

Patrick Troughton (Dr Who), Frazer Hines (Jamie), Debbie Watling (Victoria)

Guest Cast

Jack Watling (Professor Travers), Tina Packer (Anne Travers), Nicholas Courtney (Col. Lethbridge-Stewart) [3-6], Frederick Schrecker (Julius Silverstein) [1], Rod Beacham (Corporal Lane) [1-4], Richardson Morgan (Corporal Blake) [1-4], Ralph Watson (Captain Knight) [1-4], Jon Rollason (Harold Chorley) [1-3, 6], Jack Woolgar (Staff Sgt. Arnold), Stephen Whittaker (Craftsman Weams) [1-3], Bernard G. High (Soldier) [1], John Levene [1-2, 4-6], John Lord [2, 4, 6], Gordon Stothard [1-2, 4-6], Colin Warman [1, 4], Jeremy King [2-3], Roger Jacombs [6] (Yeti), Joseph O’Connell (Soldier) [2], Derek Pollitt (Driver Evans) [2-6]


Written by Mervyn Haisman/Henry Lincoln
Directed by Douglas Camfield
Produced by Peter Bryant


After being caught up in a web-like substance on its journey through space, the TARDIS arrives in the tunnels of the London Underground railway system, only to find the web also in the tunnels – as is the Great Intelligence’s Yeti.

How has this happened? The team learn that the impending disaster was triggered nearly forty years before, after their previous encounter with the Intelligence. Professor Travers accidentally reactivated a Yeti, thus giving the Intelligence the ammunition it needed to plan another invasion attempt.

The aim is simple: the Intelligence wants to drain The Doctor’s mind. Army forces, led by Colonel Lethbridge-Stewart, help The Doctor and his team race against time to stop them in their mission. Can they make it?


  • First appearance of Leighbridge Stewart played by Nicholas Courtney, who would be later promoted to Brigadier.
  • Episodes 2-6 are missing but audio recordings and telesnaps exist. The soundtrack has been released as part of the BBC Radio Collection.
  • Episode 1 has been released on the second tape of the Reign of Terror video set. It has also been released on DVD as part of the Lost in Time collection.
  • Eight short clips from Episodes 2, 4 and 5 have been discovered in New Zealand in 2002.
  • Novelised as Doctor Who and the Web of Fear by Terrance Dicks.
  • The scripts of the missing episodes are available on the Scripts Project page.
  • A photonovel of the story is available on the BBC Doctor Who website.
  • A fan-produced photovideo reconstruction of the missing episodes has been made by Joint Venture.
  • Doctor Who Magazine Archive: Issue #235.
  • Order the DVD
  • trailer

    error: Content is protected
    Skip to content