The Next Doctor


Previous Next

Buy from Amazon UKBuy from Amazon COMBuy from Amazon CA



The Next Doctor

Series 4


First Transmitted

25 December 2008

Final ratings



2009 specials dvd set


The Next Doctor DVD


The Next Doctor
The Next Doctor
The Next Doctor
The Next Doctor
The Next Doctor
The Next Doctor
The Next Doctor
The Next Doctor
The Next Doctor
The Next Doctor
The Next Doctor
previous arrow
next arrow


Regular Cast

David Tennant (the Doctor)

Guest Cast

David Morrissey (Jackson Lake), Velile Tshabalala (Rosita), Dervla Kirwan (Miss Hartigan), Nicholas Briggs (Cybermen voices), Paul Kasey (Cyberleader), Ruari Mears (Cybershade), Edmund Kente (Mr Scoones), Michael Bertenshaw (Mr Cole), Jason Morell (Vicar), Neil McDermott (Jed), Ashley Horne (Lad), Tom Langford (Frederick), Jordan Southwell (Urchin), Matthew Allick (Docker).


Written by Russell T. Davies
Directed by Andy Goddard
Produced by Suzie Liggat


Arriving in London on Christmas Eve, 1851, the Doctor merrily makes his way through a busy marketplace in the midst of a snowfall. Suddenly he hears a woman calling his name, and rushes to investigate. He finds himself in an alleyway where the woman, named Rosita, is panicking as something threatens to break through a nearby door. He introduces himself but Rosita insists he is not the Doctor.

Soon another man arrives, clothed in classic Edwardian dress. He tells Rosita, his companion, to pass him his Sonic Screwdriver and then to return to the TARDIS; this is the job of a Time Lord. As the door gives way the two men both stand ready with their Screwdrivers; the two Doctors.



  1. The Doctor references the events of Blink in an attempt to rouse the Other Doctor’s memories.
  2. The Doctor is no stranger to sword fights – he has fought before in The Sea Devils, The Androids of Tara, The Kings Demons and The Christmas Invasion.
  3. The Doctor recalls the battle of Canary Wharf in Doomsday, wherein the Cybermen and the Daleks were trapped in the void. He then recounts the events of Journey’s End, where DavrosDaleks used a reality bomb to destroy the void.
  4. When talking of his companions At The end of the story, the Doctor talks of those who feel they must leave him (Martha, perhaps), those who find another life to lead (arguably Rose), and those who forget him (Donna).
  5. The Info-stamp containing data about the Doctor displays footage of all of the Time Lord’s incarnations; the First Doctor (The Time Meddler), Second Doctor (The Ice Warriors), Third Doctor (Terror of the Autons), Fourth Doctor (City of Death), Fifth Doctor (Arc of Infinity), Sixth Doctor (The Mysterious Planet), Seventh Doctor (Time and the Rani), Eighth Doctor (The Movie), Ninth Doctor (The Parting of the Ways) and the Tenth Doctor (The Family of Blood). Further footage of the Tenth Doctor is taken from Blink, The Runaway Bride, Voyage of the Damned and The Lazarus Experiment.


error: Content is protected
Skip to content