Theatre of War

Theatre of War
Theatre of War

Regular Cast

Sylvester McCoy (The Doctor), Sophie Aldred (Ace), Lisa Bowerman (Bernice Summerfield), Miles Richardson (Irving Braxiatel), Kirsty Besterman (Lannic), Richard Vranch (Gilmanuk), Ed Stoppard (Fortalexa), Bryan Dick (The Exec), Ramon Tikaram (Marlock), Gus Brown (Krane), Milo Twomey (Jorvik). Other parts played by the cast.


The Seventh Doctor, Ace and Bernice Summerfield are drawn into a shakespearian tragedy on the planet Menaxus.

Based on the original 1994 New Adventures novel by Justin Richards.

Hamlet, thou hast thy father much offended.

Ace stared at The Doctor. He nodded. ‘Yes, Ace. We’re in Elsinore. And I don’t like it either.’

Five years ago, an archaeological expedition came to Menaxus to explore the ruins of an ancient theatre. All but one of the visitors died horribly, and the planet was abandoned, bathed in lethal radiation.

Now the only survivor has returned, determined to uncover the theatre’s secrets whatever the cost. Among her archaeological team is a certain Professor Bernice Summerfield.

Soon the deaths begin again, while the front line of an interstellar war moves ever closer. Desperate for help, Bernice tries to summon her companions. But when the TARDIS lands on the planet, The Doctor finds himself participating in a frighteningly real performance of Shakespeare’s greatest tragedy. And he begins to realise that the truth about Menaxus may be far stranger than anyone imagines.

Written By: Justin Richards
Directed By: Scott Handcock



  • Theatre of War is the twenty-sixth novel of the New Adventures novel range. It features the Seventh Doctor, Bernice Summerfield and Ace
  • The Doctor gives Bernice a research ticket for the Braxiatel Collection with the number 0001.
  • Ace knows how to pilot shuttles
  • This is the first appearance of the Braxiatel Collection, it is Bernice’s first meeting with Irving Braxiatel.
  • The Good Soldiers by Stanoff Osterling is considered to be in Shakespeare’s league.
  • F. Van der Cleele published The Dramatist’s Art in 2811.
  • Azcline Grigsen published Osterling’s Legacy in 3498.


coming soon

Buy From


error: Content is protected
Skip to content