Square 130x126Square 130x126



Pages 124
ISBN  0-426-19457-8
Publication Date 3 May 1984


The TARDIS arrives on the planet Manussa-much to The Doctor’s surprise, because Tegan has mysteriously set the co-ordinates.

But Tegan, once again a member of the TARDIS crew, is not her own boss. An unsuspecting medium for the sinister Mara, she enables the evil exile to return to his home planet.

On Manussa the ten-yearly celebration of the Mara’s banishment is about to take place. Only The Doctor realises that this could in fact mark the spectacular revival of the reign of terror-but no one will heed his warning.




  1. Nightmare
  2. Cave of the Snake
  3. Voice of the Mara
  4. Hall of Mirrors
  5. The Sign of the Mara
  6. Dinner with Ambril
  7. Dojjen’s Journal
  8. The Origin of Evil
  9. Death Sentence
  10. The Escape
  11. Dojjen
  12. The Becoming of the Mara


  • The Fortune Teller’s name is given as Madame Zara.
  • The Fifth Doctor explains that “Sumaran Empire” translates to “Empire of the Mara.”
  • Scenes on life on Manussa and supporting characters is expanded upon.
  • The Fifth Doctor reflects on how no one listened to him until it was too late
  • It is established that Nyssa remembers Tegan read out the co-ordinates for Manussa but keeps quiet to keep herout of trouble.
  • Some of the short scenes from the televised version are combined into longer scenes, such as Dugdale’s first two scenes and the Doctor’s first visit to Ambril.
  • Chela realises what The Doctor is saying about the Six Faces of Delusion after counting.
  • The novelisation includes some material that was scripted but not included such as Tanha meeting Chela while taking Nyssa to the cells, Lon reacting badly when Tanha almost sees his snake mark and Tanha and Ambril discussing the latter’s lack of family.
  • The Doctor ushers Tegan and Nyssa out of the cavern at the end rather than give explanations.
  • There is no mention of Dugdale recovering.

  • error: Content is protected
    Skip to content