Black Orchid

Black Orchid
Black Orchid

Peter Davison is The Doctor with Matthew Waterhouse, Sarah Sutton and Janet Fielding. Doctor Who Black Orchid is written by Terrence Dudley

Black Orchid was first published by Target Books in the 1970s &amp, 1980s. On a lazy June afternoon in 1925 the TARDIS materialises at the tiny railway station of Cranleigh Halt. Warmly welcomed by the local gentry, the time-travellers look forward to a well deserved rest from their adventures. After a stunning performance at a friendly cricket match, The Doctor, together with Tegan, Adric and Nyssa, is invited to a splendid masked ball by Lady Cranleigh and her son, Charles. But a dark menace haunts the secret corridors of Cranleigh Hall. And before the ball is over, the quiet summer will be shattered by the shocking discovery of a brutal murder

Episode entry


Listen to a sample:


coming soon


  • Although Sarah Sutton was credited as ‘Nyssa/Ann’ on-screen, she was billed only as ‘Nyssa’ in Radio Times.
  • This is the first story since The Highlanders not to feature any science fiction elements, apart from the use of the TARDIS, in the story. Of all the purely historical serials, this is set in the (as of 2013) closest time from its airdate.

Buy From

Square 130x126Square 130x126

error: Content is protected
Skip to content