Doctor Who and the State of Decay

Square 130x126Square 130x126

Doctor Who and the State of Decay


Pages 125
ISBN 0-426-20133-7
Publication Date 14 January 1982


The Doctor, Romana and K9 – and a young stowaway called Adric – are trapped in the alternative universe of E-Space.

Seeking help, they land on an unknown planet – and find a nightmare world where oppressed peasants toil for the Lords who live in the Tower, and where all learning is forbidden – a society in a state of decay.

What is the terrifying secret of the Three Who Rule? What monstrous creature stirs beneath the Tower, waking from its thousand-year sleep?

The Doctor discovers that the oldest and deadliest enemy of the Time Lords is about to spring into horrifying action.



  1. The Selection
  2. The Strangers
  3. The Stowaway
  4. The Messengers of Aukon
  5. The Tower
  6. Tarak’s Plan
  7. The Secret Horror
  8. The Resting Place
  9. Escape
  10. The Vampires
  11. The Traitor
  12. Attack on the Tower
  13. The Arising
  14. Departure


  • The book includes several pieces of dialogue from earlier versions of the script that were left out of broadcast, such as K9 stating once he has finished his calculations he will go and rescue The Doctor and Romana.
  • Aukon’s title is given as High Councillor.
  • All the references to “the wasting” are omitted, with Ivo instead stating the Lords protect them from “the dark things that stalk the night”.
  • Veros is introduced later than on screen, during the scene where Tarak decides to go to the Tower.
  • The characters of Roga and Zoldaz are unnamed.
  • Prior to taking the TARDIS to the rebels’ HQ, The Doctor deduces that since Romana and Adric haven’t returned Tarak probably didn’t deliver his message.
  • Ivo is shown to strangle Habris after encountering him at the Tower

error: Content is protected
Skip to content