The Awakening

Square 130x126Square 130x126

The AwakeningThe Awakening


Pages 144
ISBN  0-426-20158-2
Publication Date 13 June 1985


1985 Target Books edition

The Doctor has promised Tegan that they will visit her grandfather in the English village of Little Hodcombe, in the year 1984, a precision of timing and location that the TARDIS has not always achieved…

When the Type-40 machine comes to rest, the view on the scanner screen only serves to confirm Tegan’s rather low expectations of the TARDIS’ performance.

The most sensible course of action would be to leave immediately – but despite Turlough’s protests The Doctor rushes out to take on a seemingly hopeless rescue mission…

1992 Target Books edition


The Doctor has promised Tegan that he will take her to visit her grandfather’s village of Little Hodcombe. But all is not well in this little village – the whole population is involved in a war game that seems even more sinister, and little Hodcombe itself is surrounded by an energy field. Something is very wrong indeed, and the Doctor, Turlough and Tegan take on what seems to be a hopeless rescue mission.

This is a novelisation by Eric Pringle of his own original story, first broadcast in 1984 and featuring Peter Davison in the role of the Doctor.

2010 BBC Audio edition

May Day is approaching in the English village of Little Hodcombe, scene of an ancient Civil War battle. When the TARDIS arrives, The Doctor’s companion, Tegan, is hoping to visit her grandfather. Yet the travellers learn that he has mysteriously disappeared, and the planned re-enactment of the battle has taken on a menacing tone.

Local schoolteacher Jane Hampden knows how the county squire plans to celebrate May Day: with the May Queen meeting a grisly end. Can Jane make the villages see sense, or are they under the influence of some unseen force? The village church holds the clues to what is happening in Little Hodcombe, and soon The Doctor is facing an ancient alien foe. Can he and his friends triumph against it?



  1. An Unexpected Aura
  2. The Devil in the Church
  3. The Body in the Barn
  4. of Psychic Things
  5. ‘A Particularly Nasty Game’
  6. The Awakening
  7. Tegan the Queen
  8. Stone Monkey
  9. Servant of the Malus
  10. Fulfillment


  • Does not include a sequence with Kamelion which had been cut from the broadcast version of the serial.
  • There are a few minor dialogue changes, such as Tegan and Turlough’s lines about the church being refused planning permission being transposed.
  • Wolsey’s sudden appearance to capture Tegan is explained as him stepping out of an alley.
  • It is stated that Sir George Hutchinson’s ancestor was squire in Will’s time and the one who organised the burning of the May Queen and forced the villagers to fight.
  • Jane opening the TARDIS door is omitted, even though the pay- off of the Doctor telling her to close them when they return is retained.

error: Content is protected
Skip to content